The Fat Man Meets Meatless Monday!

Today is Day 1 of the rest of my life. And of the Standard Process 21 day Purification Program. My official starting weight is 265 butt-nekkid pounds. Don’t even stop to consider the visuals!

I headed upstairs at 11:30 pm, last night, to get ready for bed. Along the way, I swallowed 2 Melatonin tablets. I brushed my teeth, inserted my mouth guard, slipped into my PJs, set the alarm for 7:30 am, then slid into bed and went to sleep. Then I remembered that I had forgotten to do something that had to be done before I could go to sleep. I got back out of bed, went downstairs and quickly did what needed doing, and then went to bed to sleep. So, this is what a normal bedtime routine is like? I guess I can get used to it (minus the restart), especially if it will improve my odds of success.

Now for the first meal of the first day of the Purification Program. A protein shake! Oh, yum! Fortunately, I have been drinking these for breakfast for the past couple weeks in anticipation of today. Today’s shake was made special by the addition of freshly juiced fruits and veggies: beet, apple, carrot. The meals throughout the remainder of today may be a bit more challenging. The Do Not Eat List is a bit long: no meat, no dairy, no this and no that. Just veggies (mostly raw) and protein shakes.

And, I get to take 7 SP Cleanse capsules plus 3 SP Gastro-Fibers with breakfast, lunch and dinner today. Together, these capsules will move me in ways that I prefer to not describe. In 7 days, I will have cleaned out the main crap in my system. The next 14 days will cleanse the rest of the system without the aid of the Cleanse capsules. Just think: 7 Cleanse capsules 3 times a day = 21 capsules per day; times 7 days = 147 Cleanse capsules in a week. Don’t forget the 63 Gastro-Fiber capsules that will join them on the journey through my system. And, the eight 8 ounce glasses of water each day = 64 ounces per day = 1344 fluid ounces for the first week. I can already feel myself floating away. Or is that the Cleanse and Gastro-Fiber beginning to take effect.

My wife is off from work today. We are having lunch together at Ruby Tuesday. Salad bar, here I come! Greens and veggies and oil and vinegar. No beans, no meats, no macaroni or potato salad. I can do this. Just call me Big Bunny!

After breakfast and before going out to lunch with my wife, I did a quick workout: 10 minutes on our VibaBody Slimmer and 5 minutes on our new elliptical machine.  The makers of the Slimmer claim that 10 minutes on it is eqivalent to an hour working out in the gym. Yeah, right! But, it is fun and is a good way towarm-up before using the elliptical. So far, I am not enjoying the elliptical. However, I am committed to using it every day, with a goal of 30 minutes per day.

Hey, look, it’s time to go out for lunch! Oh, wait, I need to take my Cleanse and Gastro-Fiber before I go. Of course, that means I will have to “go” before too long. I still love to eat.

Lunch was easy! The salad greens were very fresh (for this time of year). The broccoli, zuccini, green peppers and onions tasted good with the greens. The salad came to life with the addition of sun-dried tomatoes, light drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and a grind of black pepper. The only challenge was the food smells called to me. But once I got past them I was good. Came  home feeling full.

Time for some grocery shopping! More food exposure! This what keeps the experience interesting — so many temptations to test my will-power. Yes, I will resist. Not, yes, I will have some. I can do this.

Tomato soup and raw veggies for dinner! Given today’s cold temperature, I really enjoyed the soup.

I need to work on my food pacing — spread the food out over more small meals. I am still in the 3 meals a day mode. The biggest challenge for me is likely to be keeping up with my food duties st home — I am the family cook and grocery shopper. I even prepare and pack lunches for my wife and teenage daughters. I did it last time, so I should be able to do it again this time. Wish me will power!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

